Denver (May 12, 2014)

The American Institute of Architects Colorado Chapter (AIA Colorado), presented 21 awards and honors during its annual YAAG awards program, held Friday, May 9, at OZ Architecture in Denver. The following 12 awards and honorable mentions were selected from entries submitted by firms, designers, students and young architects (licensed 10 years or less) from across the state. The entries were judged by a jury of architects and community leaders, including Harvey Hine, AIA; Maria Cole, AIA; Andrea Springer, Assoc. AIA; Rick Peterson; Rick Sommerfeld, Assoc. AIA; Jo Vandenburg; and Christopher O’Hara, P.E., PA; facilitated by Jury Chair Dr. Mark Gelernter, Ph.D., Assoc. AIA, Dean of the College of Architecture and Planning at the University of Colorado Denver.


Emerging Professional of the Year

Winner: Katie Donahue, Assoc. AIA


Emerging Professional Development by a Firm



Built Architecture

Winner: Lloyd (Chris) Fulenwider, AIA Project: Emerson Lofts

Honorable Mention: Shawn Adams, AIAS; Erica Alfaro; Patrick Beseda; Gregory Behlen; Anastasia Chmel; Megan Garret; Patricia Gut; Amy Keil, Assoc. AIA; Anna Huey, AIAS; Henry Rahn, AIAS; Foster Ramsey; Scott Rank, AIAS; Joey Stevenson; Dana Trill; Iassen Vladimirov, AIAS; Megan Voiles; Seth Willison; Kristin Zuro, AIAS; Catalina Pedraza, AIAS; Lacy Williams Project: Hozho House


Unbuilt Architecture

Winner: John Gibbons
Project: Telluride Bathhouse

Craftsmanship – Architectural

Winner: Shannon Ferguson
Project: The Lab at Point Lobos

Honorable Mention: Michael Reilly
Project: Point Lobos Dive Center

Craftsmanship – Artistic

Winner: Yandy Cheng, AIAS; Katie Donahue, Assoc. AIA; Mason Limke
Project: The Pulp Wall Installation

Interior Architecture

Winner: Paul Andersen, AIA; Jason King
Project: The Bubble Garden

Most Sustainable Project

No Winner

Honorable Mention: Will Koning, Assoc. AIA; Ellen Adams, Assoc. AIA; Brett Blackmon, Assoc. AIA; Lura Blumenfled; Jay Burkhalter; Glen Camuso, Assoc. AIA; Jacob Ebling, Assoc. AIA; William Koning, Assoc. AIA; William Murray; JD Signom, Assoc. AIA; Rebecca Sockwell
Project: Skow House

Student Portfolio

Winner: Iassen Vladimirov, AIAS

Honorable Mention: John Gibbons


For more than 150 years, members of The American Institute of Architects (AIA) have worked with each other and their communities to create more valuable, healthy, secure and sustainable buildings and cityscapes. AIA members have access to the right people, knowledge and tools to create better design, and through such resources and access, they help clients and communities make their visions real. With more than 2,500 members, AIA Colorado’s mission is to be the voice of the architectural profession and the primary resource for its members. AIA Colorado inspires members to be leaders in a quality built environment. Visit

– – –

Media Contacts

Alaina Gonzales
AIA Colorado 303 E. 17th Ave., Ste. 110
Denver, CO 80203
303.446.2266 x 116