DENVER (Oct. 9, 2014) — The American Institute of Architects Colorado chapter (AIA Colorado) and its local sections (AIA Denver, AIA Colorado North and AIA Colorado South) recognized its 2014 architectural design and honor award recipients on Thursday, Oct. 9, during a presentation at the Silverthorne Pavilion in Silverthorne, Colo.

The following 17 architectural design awards were selected from 188 entries submitted by members of AIA Colorado.

The awards were presented by AIA Colorado Jury Chair Dan Rockhill, Rockhill and Associates (Lecompton, Kan.), AIA  Denver Jury Chair Kai-Uwe Bergmann, AIA, BIG (New York), AIA Colorado North Jury Chair Prof. Calvin Lewis, FAIA, Iowa State University (Ames, Iowa), and AIA Colorado South Jury Chair Mike Christianer, AIA, SFS Architecture (Kansas City, Mo.).

(Note: Honor awards are the highest achievement, followed by merit, then citation. Three projects won at both the state and local levels, and are listed first.)

See the award gallery.


For more than 150 years, members of The American Institute of Architects (AIA) have worked with each other and their communities to create more valuable, healthy, secure and sustainable buildings and cityscapes. AIA members have access to the right people, knowledge and tools to create better design, and through such resources and access, they help clients and communities make their visions real. With more than 2,500 members, AIA Colorado’s mission is to be the voice of the architectural profession and the primary resource for its members. AIA Colorado inspires members to be leaders in a quality built environment. Visit

– – –

Media Contacts

Alaina Gonzales
AIA Colorado 303 E. 17th Ave., Ste. 110
Denver, CO 80203
303.446.2266 x 116