40.46694587729243, -86.91886130203513

Meet the Jurors for the 2023 Design Awards

The annual AIA Colorado Design + Honor Awards are upon us, and we’re pleased to introduce the 2023 jury below. Reminder, the deadline to submit is Friday, May 19th, at 5pm.


Marisol Foreman, AIA

The Awards Committee is so proud to have such a powerhouse lineup of esteemed colleagues to serve as our 2023 design jury. The breadth of the practice types and locations represented is exceeded only by their deep expertise and leadership in living out the values we all aspire to. We can’t wait for them to see your best work when they convene at the national conference on architecture in San Francisco!

Jury Chair

Yiselle Santos Rivera, AIA

Yiselle Santos Rivera, AIA, NOMA, LSSYB, WELL AP, LEED AP BD+C, from San Juan, Puerto Rico, is a Principal and the Global Director of Justice, Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion at HKS. Yiselle is an activist architect that works to dismantle barriers and bring visibility to underrepresented designers by creating inclusive workplaces. As medical planner, Yiselle amplifies the voices of marginalized communities encouraging processes of co-creation to provide equitable access to care for all. As a trusted advisor, she helps clients and firm leaders build more just, equitable, diverse, and inclusive organizations. 

She is the co-founder of the Latin American Interior Designers, Engineers, and Architects (LA.IDEA) DC Committee and founder of “Women Inspiring Emerging Leaders in Design” (WIELD), which received the 2019 AIA Diversity Program Recognition Award. Yiselle served on the AIA National Associated Committee from 2015-18, the AIA Strategic Council on 2019, the AIA National Board in 2020, and NOMA as Chair of Research and Development from 2021-22. As an AIA committee member, Mrs. Santos Rivera led the creation of the Ethnical Diverse Additional Considerations section of AIA’s Alternative Care Site Preparedness Assessment Tool V2.0 and contributed to the development of AIA’s Equitable Development Frameworks. She also served a two-year term on the AIA Equity and the Future of Architecture Committee, supporting the development of the AIA Guides for Equitable Practice Executive Summaries. This year, Yiselle is the AIA DC Chapter Board President empowering the DC community to design a better future.

Yiselle is an international speaker on inclusive design, belonging, intercultural competency, and LGBQTIA+ issues. She is a storyteller, author on the 2021 book “Latinas in Architecture: Stories of raising the 1% one Latina at a time”, 2015 Christopher Kelley Leadership Development Program Scholar, and recipient of the 2018 AIA Associate Award and the 2022 AIA Young Architect Award.

Adele Houghton, FAIA

Adele Houghton, FAIA; MPH; LEED AP BD+C, O+M, ND, President of Biositu, LLC, works at the intersection of buildings, public health, and climate change. She is a member of the American Institute of Architects College of Fellows and a Doctor of Public Health (DrPH) candidate from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Her book Architectural Epidemiology (Johns Hopkins University Press 2024) combines neighborhood data with participatory community engagement to generate new value through community benefit design.

Susan Chin, FAIA

Susan Chin, FAIA, Hon. ASLA, an accomplished architect, urbanist and civic leader, recently led Design Trust for Public Space, that unlocks the potential of New York City’s public space since 1995. Prior to Design Trust, she was assistant commissioner for Capital Projects at NYC Department of Cultural Affairs, supporting architecture and public art citywide. She also served on the American Institute of Architects board, and as AIANY chapter president. Her awards include:American Society of Landscape Architects Honorary Membership, AIANY State’s Kideney Gold Medal and Del Gaudio, and The Ohio State University’s Distinguished Alumna. Ms. Chin serves on NYC & Company Board of Directors, and East Midtown Governing Group.

Tim Schroeder, FAIA

As President of Neumann Monson Architects, Tim strives to maintain a graceful balance between compassion and excellence. Introduced to the firm as a summer intern in 1991, Tim joined full-time after graduating from Iowa State in 1994. He became principal in 2000 and soon earned the firm’s first AIA recognitions and some of the first LEED certifications in the state, culminating with a 2008 AIA Young Architect Award.  

In 2012, as the firm looked beyond the leadership of its founders, Tim became its first Head of Operations and rallied the team through a period of transformation that focused on design excellence, team empowerment, and client experience. He became the firm’s third President in 2018.  

As a leader, Tim focuses on constantly evolving Neumann Monson toward meaning and purpose. In 2020, he facilitated the firm’s Just Label, a third-party certification that measures organizational equity, diversity, inclusion, employee benefits, health and well-being, and community stewardship. Tim’s guidance has helped Neumann Monson emerge as a leader in design and environmental stewardship, client and employee experience, and local community engagement.  

He was awarded the AIA Iowa Medal of Honor for his contributions to Iowa Architecture in 2020. For his contributions to practice management, he was elevated to the AIA College of Fellows in 2023.

Jason Takeuchi, AIA

Jason Takeuchi, AIA, NCARB, NOMA is a fourth-generation Japanese American born and raised in Hawaii and the first in his family to enter the design and construction industry. As aproject architect at Ferraro Choi And Associates in Honolulu, his primary work experience focuses on sustainable projects that enhance the social welfare and progress of local communities. Jason is an alumni supporter of the University of Hawaii, where he graduated witha Doctor of Architecture degree in 2012.

Over the past ten years, Jason has built his career at Ferraro Choi And Associates, credited as the state’s top sustainability firm and recipient of multiple COTE Top Ten Awards. Jason’s work has evolved from environmental sustainability to resilience of organizations, missions and cultures. His clients are mission-driven, many of which are non-profit organizations, and those benefitting Native Hawaiians and the greater community.

Beyond practice, Jason currently serves as Vice Chair of the AIA National Young Architects Forum (YAF) and will chair the committee in 2024. From 2017-2020, he represented the AIA Northwest and Pacific Region as Young Architect Regional Director of the YAF and Regional Associate Director of the National Associates Committee (NAC). Jason is the first member to serve on these committees from Hawaii and one of a handful of Asian Americans to do so.

Through AIA Honolulu, Jason co-founded the 5x5x5 Mentorship Program in Honolulu, the Hawaii Student Design Awards and AIA Honolulu’s Emerging Professionals Committee. Jason is a recipient of the 2018 AIA Associates Award, Building Design + Construction Magazine’s 40 Under 40 recognition and the 2023 Young Architects Award.

© AIA Colorado 2023